Andreea Talpeanu

 

Her life began in a small town in western Romania in 1982. Strongly influenced by the women of her family, she learned from childhood to knit, sew and appreciate manual work. In 1997, while studying at the Normal Pedagogical School of Timisoara, she decided to take a fashion course in order to fulfill her aspirations for creative work.

Admitted to the Faculty of Architecture of Timisoara, she is however quickly disappointed by certain ideological rigidities of the teaching which is lavished there and finally decides to leave Romania to go to continue studies of architecture in Paris at the National School of Architecture. in Paris Val de Seine. The first year, with a colleague, she presents a project for the Wilmotte Prize which will receive the mention "remarkable project". During her architectural studies, she self-taught plastic work while she occupies a food job to meet her needs. His studies culminate with a Thesis on architectural characters in the work of James TURRELL, this work will receive the congratulations of the jury.

In 2012, she decided to present her artistic work for the first time to the Boum Bang collective, this meeting allowed her to integrate a project with Victor FERES where a tire dress paraded at the Palais de Tokyo and then in the Frac collections. The same year, the composer François RÈGIS (IRCAM) asked him to invest in rue Beauregard (75002 Paris) in collaboration with the Italian artist Stefano ALAIMO where we will see a video projected on a sculpture of Andreea. Subsequently in 2013, Andreea TALPEANU was invited by the London gallery Frameless to participate as part of “Freaze Week Off” in a collective exhibition featuring artists such as Rita GROSSE-RUYKEN, Paul HAZELTON or Charlotte CHARBONNEL.

In 2014, the artist exhibited during a three-month traveling exhibition in Ile de France in several institutional places with renowned artists such as ORLAN, Robert MAPPLETHORPE or Daniel SPOERI. Since then, Andreea TALPEANU, lives and works in Paris and continues collaborations.

ANDREEA TALPEANU 1.jpeg

EXHIBITION

Mutations :

 

Working with reality as matter, Andreea Talpeanu's research subjects are deeply rooted in hypermodernism and therefore in the transformation of the world today. The artist creates hybrid works with vestiges, which are contemporary reflections. Thus it generates new bodies or synthetic materials for an organic result.

His works presented in several series, "Coagulations, Nudes Hypermodernes, Hyperlinks", etc ... do not seek aesthetics, but the very essence of the fusion of things, whether they are material or immaterial. His plastic approach is not an interpretation of a contemporary subject and its metaphor, but the very search for the definition of what the bond means in today's society.

Andreea Talpeanu

 

Sa vie commence dans une petite ville de l’ouest de la Roumanie en 1982. Fortement marquée par les femmes de sa famille, elle apprend dès son enfance à tricoter, coudre et à apprécier le travail manuel. En 1997, pendant ses études à l’École Normale Pédagogique de Timisoara, elle décide de suivre une formation de mode afin de satisfaire ses aspirations au travail de création. 

 Admise à la Faculté d’Architecture de Timisoara, elle est cependant rapidement déçue par certaines raideurs idéologiques de l’enseignement qui y est prodigué et décide finalement de quitter la Roumanie pour aller poursuivre des études d’architectures à Paris à l’École Nationale Architecture à Paris Val de Seine. La première année, elle présente avec une collègue un projet au prix Wilmotte qui recevra la mention « projet remarqué ». Durant son cursus architectural, elle continue en autodidacte des travaux plastiques tandis qu’elle occupe un emploi alimentaire pour subvenir à ses besoins. Ses études aboutissent avec un Mémoire sur les caractères architecturaux dans le travail de James TURRELL, ce travail recevra les félicitations du jury.

En 2012, elle décida de présenter son travail artistique pour la première fois au collectif Boum Bang, cette rencontre, lui permis d’intégrer un projet avec Victor FERES où une robe en pneu défila au palais de Tokyo puis dans les collections de la Frac. La même année, le compositeur François RÈGIS (IRCAM) lui propose d’investir la rue Beauregard (75002 Paris) en collaboration avec l’artiste italien Stefano ALAIMO où l’on verra une vidéo projetée sur une sculpture d’Andreea. Par la suite en 2013, Andreea TALPEANU est invitée par la galerie londonienne Frameless pour participer dans le cadre de « Freaze Week Off » à une exposition collective où figurent des artistes comme Rita GROSSE-RUYKEN, Paul HAZELTON ou Charlotte CHARBONNEL.

En 2014, l’artiste expose durant une exposition itinérante de trois mois en Ile de France dans plusieurs endroits institutionnels avec des artistes de grands renoms comme ORLAN, Robert MAPPLETHORPE ou encore Daniel SPOERI.  Depuis, Andreea TALPEANU, vit et travaille à Paris et continue des collaborations.

ANDREEA TALPEANU 1.jpeg

EXPOSITION 

Mutations :

 

Travaillant, avec la réalité comme matière, les sujets de recherche d’Andreea Talpeanu sont profondément enracinés dans l’hypermodernisme et donc dans la transformation du monde actuel. L’artiste crée des œuvres hybrides avec des vestiges, qui sont des reflets contemporains. Ainsi elle génère de nouveaux corps ou matières synthétiques pour un résultat organique.   

Ses œuvres présentées sous plusieurs séries, « Coagulations, Nus Hypermodernes, Hyperliens », etc… ne recherchent pas l’esthétique, mais l’essence même de la fusion des choses, qu’elles soient matérielles ou immatérielles. Son approche plastique n’est pas une interprétation d’un sujet contemporain et sa métaphore, mais la recherche même de la définition de ce que signifie le lien dans la société d’aujourd’hui.