Francesca Sangiorgi

 

Born in Sicily in 1980, catapulted to France at the age of 14, Francesca studied applied art on the heights of Nice before settling in Paris and starting a career as artistic director in a communication agency.

Drawing has always been the best way for her to express her dreams and torments, to make fun of difficult situations. This talent will remain hidden until his first exhibition in 2016 in Paris. Since then she has continued to express herself mainly in Indian ink, but also on cut-out wooden supports, on walls and in the street with chalk.

FRANCESCA SANGIORGI 1.jpeg

EXHIBITION

Tempesta - Francesca Sangiorgi

 

“Flying fish, living robots… dead, female creatures, neither women nor girls, cats from the past. These mysterious beings and others inhabit the works of Francesca Sangiorgi. Born on an island, Sicily, Francesca carries within her all the power of the sea, a stormy sea that brings to the surface fragments of the past, a sea where improbable boats defy the waves, lose and find their way back. In his works, we feel the wind in the hair of those who go to sea. A black and white torn by a bright red where dream and reality, past and present, hardness and joy of living, childhood and adulthood, photography and drawing , dance in a mysterious and fascinating harmony. "


Francesca's art has the power to touch the strings of the soul of the beholder. A feeling of melancholy but at the same time of rebirth invests the observer who lets himself be carried away by the waves. Life seen with eyes that saw beautiful and less beautiful fragments of life but which kept children in astonishment. Francesca's universe laughs at difficulties and ridicules them, staying true to herself in good and bad spells.
Dreamlike reality and urban reality come together in a perfect balance in which creatures, extrapolated from their natural context, are catapulted into environments that are foreign to them and to which they are forced to adapt.

Francesca Sangiorgi

 

Née en Sicile en 1980, catapultée en France à 14 ans, Francesca fait des études d’art appliquée sur les hauteurs de Nice avant de s’installer à Paris et commencer une carrière de directrice artistique en agence de communication.
 
Le dessin a toujours été pour elle le meilleur moyen d’exprimer ses rêves et ses tourments, de tourner en dérision des situations difficiles. Ce talent restera cahé jusqu’à sa première exposition en 2016 à Paris. Depuis elle continue de s’exprimer à l’encre de chine surtout, mais aussi sur des supports en bois découpés, sur des murs et dans la rue avec des craies.

FRANCESCA SANGIORGI 1.jpeg

EXPOSITION 

Tempesta - Francesca Sangiorgi

 

« Poissons volants, robots vivants… morts, créatures féminines, ni femmes ni filles, chats du passé. Ces êtres mystérieux et d’autres peuplent les œuvres de Francesca Sangiorgi. Née sur une île, la Sicile, Francesca porte en elle toute la puissance de la mer, une mer orageuse qui ramène à la surface des fragments du passé, une mer où des bateaux improbables défient les vagues, perdent et retrouvent leur chemin. Dans ses œuvres, on sent le vent dans les cheveux de ceux qui partent en mer. Un noir et blanc déchiré par un rouge vif où rêve et réalité, passé et présent, dureté et joie de vivre, enfance et âge adulte, photographie et dessin, dansent dans une harmonie mystérieuse et fascinante. » 

 
L’art de Francesca a le pouvoir de toucher les ficelles de l’âme du spectateur. Un sentiment de mélancolie mais en même temps de renaissance investit l’observateur qui se laisse emporter par les vagues. La vie vue avec des yeux qui ont vu des fragments de vie beaux et moins beaux mais qui ont gardé l’étonnement des enfants. L’univers de Francesca se moque des difficultés et les ridiculise, restant fidèle à elle-même dans les bons et les mauvais sorts. 
Réalité onirique et réalité urbaine se mêlent dans un équilibre parfait dans lequel les créatures, extrapolées de leur contexte naturel, sont catapultées dans des environnements qui leur sont étrangers et auxquels elles sont obligées de s’adapter.