Rina MARUYAMA

 

BIOGRAPHY

"I was born in 1978 in Yukuhashi, a small provincial town on Kyusyu Island in Japan. In this town, there was no cultural or economic stimulation. It was almost amorphous for everything. Within this world, I spent a childhood that was itself amorphous. I was neither a pretty nor an ugly girl, neither bright nor bad in class. My family was neither rich nor poor, in short, everything around me was banal. Especially in class, I felt non-existent. At home, the same. I was a rather easy child, so my parents didn't care much about me. That's why sometimes, I wanted to shout to all those people: "Look at me, I exist “. I wanted to appear in this world but I didn't know how to express it. I started to dance and sing in secret, dreaming of becoming someone. In vain, because I always felt good for nothing. The only occupation to fill my desperate heart was drawing. I drew manga characters in my notebooks every day during class. However, no one noticed what I was doing...to them, my drawings as well as my person did not exist. Despite my unhappiness, I finished my studies as a dietician and entered the working world. I had the responsibility of managing a team of ladies much older than me. With them, I peeled vegetables, grilled fish daily for over 10 years. I was quite happy with this situation, but regularly I wondered if this was really my life. Would it end like this with those ladies peeling vegetables? 

And on my 32nd birthday, really by chance, I signed up for an oil painting class, which I had never done before. The teacher was a very old master who taught really classical painting techniques, almost old-fashioned, like 19th century. I felt very comfortable with him and I flourished throughout my learning. I began to dream of doing portraits like he did. One day I found an old photo of my grandfather when he was in the army during the second world war. In this photo, there were 18 young soldiers who looked no more than 20 years old. Instinctively, I wanted to paint their portraits individually. I became passionately involved in this experience. Through this personal exercise, I finally felt like I existed. As if by chance (again!), the year 2015 was the 70th anniversary of the commemoration of the end of the Second World War, an association of veterans proposed me to exhibit them, first locally and then all over Japan. My works were broadcasted in the media. I was congratulated, interviewed, considered for the first time in my life. I realized that this was how I wanted to exist. Like a hurricane, I had to concentrate totally on my art. I had to escape this world, escape my past to be reborn.

Spontaneously, my attention turned to the city of Paris and the Louvre Museum. In October 2016, I moved there and asked the Louvre for permission to copy paintings. I felt so good, surrounded by masterpieces of an era and artists that were no more, while outside, the contemporary art paintings presented in the art galleries did not fit me. This was not the way I wanted to express myself and position myself. However, I still didn't know what I wanted to paint.
One day I started measuring my body, my arms, legs and feet. I even shaved my head to measure it (like Demi Moore in "Equal Weapons"). I faithfully reproduced them on canvases almost 2 m high in my small 18m2 studio. This was the proof of my existence and inspired the name of my first exhibition in September 2018 "I am Japanese" which included 25 paintings. As part of a Performance, I paraded them through the streets of Paris by having friends wear them. People were looking at my works, talking to me, I was happy, finally, I existed. I had more than 200 visitors during my exhibition, including art critics such as Christian Noobergen.
With this success, I started to create a second series of large-format paintings "Pregnant Women" and a 10m painting. I rented a studio with other artists for a year (April 2019- July 2020). During this period, Covid-19 started and by bad luck, I caught it: I lost the senses of taste and smell and was about to have pneumonia too. But, despite many difficulties, I managed to finish this work. I started the third series in Paris "Older Women" in 2020 from November on. I had difficulty creating because it was the period of confinement: I painted every day at home in a very small space. It's difficult to change my technique for each series but that's what I'm looking for at all costs. Finally, it took me 6 months to finish this work (until April 2021). After that, a French art critic named Cristian Noorbergen came to my house to see my paintings. He liked the paintings and wrote an article about me in the magazine "Aralya" in August 2021.

ARTIST STATEMENT

Unbeing 


“ I chose to give this series of pregnant women the title ‘’ Unbeing ‘’
Since before being born man is dead, and dead he will be forever after.
Therefore our permanent state of being is that of death, temporarily interrupted by the act of birth.
To be born then, is to enter into an abnormal state called life. What are we doing here?  
For who, and for what purpose do we exist?
And at the end of this ephemeral journey we leave everything we have acquired. Is it a reward? A punishment?
And what of the role of women in it?
Are they condemned to reproduce this enigmatic renewal of’’ Unbeing’’?

March 8 will be International Women’s Day, and I hope this exhibition will give you an opportunity to reflect on it…

TRAINING

Born in Japan in 1978

Training:

Began his artistic activity at the age of 32.
Studied a portrait painting technique with Professor Toru Shin.
2016 October-December: Authorization of copyist (Louvre Museum).

EXHIBITIONS

 

 

"Reborn of a Women", gallery de Thorigny, March-April 2022, Paris, France.

"Giving in to the essentials", gallery 55Bellechasse, November-December 2021, Paris, France.

"I am a Japanese woman", September 2018, gallery In)(between, Paris, France: second solo exhibition, as part of "L'année du Japon en France", celebrating 160 years of friendship between the two countries.

"18 portraits of soldiers" - 70 years after the war: first personal exhibition in Fukuoka presenting a series of portraits of soldiers. The exhibition toured in two houses of culture and in a municipal cultural center.

July 2015 (House of Culture) - Yukuhashi, Fukuoka, Japan,

September 2015 (House of Culture) - Chikuzenmachi, Fukuoka,

Japan, November 2015 (Municipal Cultural Centre), Fukuoka, Japan.

IMG_6733.JPG

EXHIBITION - Rina MARUYAMA creates REBIRTH OF A WOMAN

“Body of sky, body in weightlessness, body-universe. Young artist from Japan, Rina Maruyana, Parisian by adoption, proposes a very rich renewed vision of the human being. Spiritualized, densified and as if in weightlessness, the sacralized flesh detaches itself modestly, and proudly, from the expanse. It reigns in plenitude. In infinity. 
The wisdom of Asia embraces from within its sumptuous nakedness. Imprinted with another thought, when it is the body that triggers thoughts, and oxygenates the mind in depth. The painted bodies of Rina Maruyana, against a background of unfathomable space, are as many soul markers, at the limits of all carnal expectations. Her bodies, always in statuary position, are in dominant situation. They reign in carnal majesty. They carry the contemplation until the sharp edge of the infinite. 
The body of appearance is a false body, manufactured of all cultural parts, imposed and dogmatic. The Maruyanesque body is lived, vital and inhabited. It is a place of universal humanity. Body marked of sensual abstraction, and rich of warm vital thickness.
The body of appearance is ghost of eternity. The painted body of the painters is body of ultimate resistance, body of indispensable truth. The body of the depths does not have voice in the light chapter of appearances. 
The body, distinguished from the landscape, embodies a kind of symbolic rupture of the umbilical cord, the possibility of living without attachment, in the autonomy of a relation of existential control. This first separation supposes the capacity of reception of the intracorporeal otherness. The artist, as the dead pharaoh would engage himself for the eternity of his rebirth, recreate his body by the process of creation, as he recreates the carnal landscape of his dreamed life. 
The work of Rina Maruyana demonstrates the imperative need for pictorial stripping. And the gaze finally abandons itself to the essential.”

Christian Noorbergen, July 26, 2021
Art critic and lecturer

Rina MARUYAMA

 

BIOGRAPHIE

 

Je suis née en 1978 à Yukuhashi, une petite ville provinciale de l’île de Kyusyu au Japon. Dans cette ville, il n’y avait aucune stimulation culturelle ni économique. Elle était pour ainsi dire amorphe pour tout. Au sein de cet univers, j’ai passé une enfance qui était elle-même amorphe. Je n’étais une fille ni mignonne ni laide, ni brillante ni mauvaise en classe. Ma famille n’était ni riche ni pauvre, enfin, tout était banale autour de moi. Surtout en classe, je me sentais inexistante. A la maison, pareil. J’étais une enfant plutôt facile, donc mes parents ne s’intéressaient pas beaucoup à moi. C’est pour cela que parfois je souhaitais crier à tous ces gens : ‟Regardez-moi, j’existe”. Je voulais apparaître dans ce monde mais je ne savais pas comment l’exprimer. Je commençais en cachette à danser, à chanter, en rêvant de devenir quelqu’un. En vain, car je me sentais toujours bonne à rien. La seule occupation pour combler mon cœur désespéré fut le dessin. Je dessinais chaque jour des personnages de manga dans mes cahiers pendant les cours. Cependant, personne ne remarquait ce que je faisais…pour eux, mes dessins comme ma personne n’existaient pas. En dépit de mon mal-être, j’ai terminé mes études de diététicienne et je suis entrée dans le monde du travail. J’ai eu la responsabilité de diriger une équipe de dames beaucoup plus âgées que moi. Avec elles, j’ai épluché des légumes, j’ai fait griller des poissons quotidiennement pendant plus de 10 ans. J’étais assez contente de cette situation mais régulièrement, je me demandais si c’était vraiment cela, ma vie. Finira-t-elle ainsi avec ces dames en épluchant des légumes ?

 

Et le jour de mes 32 ans, vraiment par hasard, je me suis inscrite à des cours de peinture à huile, que je n’avais jamais pratiquée auparavant. Le professeur était un très vieux maître qui enseignait des techniques de peinture vraiment classiques, presque démodées, genre 19ème siècle. Je me sentais très bien avec lui et je m’épanouissais tout au long de mon apprentissage. Je commençais à rêver de réaliser des portraits comme il faisait lui-même. Un jour, j’ai trouvé une vieille photo de mon grand-père lorsqu’il était dans l’armée durant la deuxième guerre mondiale. Sur cette photo, il y avait 18 jeunes soldats qui avaient l’air d’avoir 20 ans tout au plus. Instinctivement, j’ai eu envie de peindre leur portrait individuellement. Je me suis investie avec passion lors de cette expérience. Par le biais de cet exercice personnel, enfin, je me suis sentie exister. Comme par hasard (encore !), l’année 2015 était le 70ème anniversaire de la commémoration de la fin de la IIème Guerre Mondiale, une association d’anciens combattants m’a proposé de les exposer, d’abord localement et par la suite un peu partout au Japon. Mes œuvres furent diffusées dans les médias. Je fus félicitée, interviewée, considérée pour la première fois de ma vie. J’ai réalisé que c’était ainsi que je souhaitais exister. Tel un ouragan, je devais me concentrer totalement à mon art. Je devais échapper à cet univers, échapper à mon passé pour renaitre (re-n’être).

 

Spontanément, mon attention se porta sur la ville de Paris et le musée du Louvre. En Octobre 2016, je m’y suis installée et j’ai demandé l’autorisation au Louvre de copier des tableaux. Je me sentais tellement bien, entourée de chefs-d’œuvre d’une époque et d’artistes qui n’étaient plus, tandis que dehors, les tableaux d’arts contemporains présentés dans les galeries d’art ne me correspondaient pas. Ce n’était pas ainsi que je voulais m’exprimer et me positionner. Cependant, je ne savais pas encore ce que je voulais peindre.

Un jour, j’ai commencé à mesurer mon corps, mes bras, mes jambes et mes pieds. Je me suis même rasé le crâne pour le mesurer (comme Demi Moore dans « A armes égales »). Je les ai reproduits fidèlement sur des toiles de presque 2 m de haut dans mon petit studio de 18m2. Ce fut la preuve de mon existence et cela inspira le nom de ma première exposition en septembre 2018 « Je suis japonaise » qui comprenait 25 tableaux. Dans le cadre d’une Performance, je les ai fait défiler dans les rues de Paris en les faisant porter par des amis. Les gens regardaient mes œuvres, m’adressaient la parole, j’étais heureuse, enfin, j’existais. J’ai eu plus de 200 visiteurs pendant mon exposition, dont des critiques d’art tel que Christian Noobergen.

Forte de ce succès, je me suis mise à créer une deuxième série de tableaux à grand-format « Femmes enceintes » et un tableau de 10m. J’ai loué un atelier avec d’autres artistes durant un an (avril 2019∼ juillet 2020). Pendant cette période, la Covid-19 a commencé et par malchance, je l’ai attrapée : j’ai perdu le goût et l’odorat et j'ai été sur le point d’avoir aussi une pneumonie. Mais, malgré beaucoup de difficultés, j’ai pu me débrouiller pour finir ce travail. J’ai commencé la troisième série à Paris “ Femmes âgées” en 2020 à partir de novembre. J’avais du mal à créer parce que c’était la période du confinement : je peignais tous les jours chez moi dans un tout petit espace. C’est difficile de changer de technique pour chaque série mais c’est ce que je cherche à tout prix. Finalement, cela m’a pris 6 mois pour finir ce travail (jusqu’ au mois d'avril 2021). Après cela, un critique d’art français qui s’appelle Christian Noorbergen est venu chez moi pour voir mes tableaux. Les tableaux lui ont plu, et il a écrit un article sur moi dans la revue « Aralya » en août 2021.

DÉCLARATION DE L'ARTISTE

 

N’être (au sens « ne pas être ») ? 
 
Avant de naître, nous sommes morts depuis toujours et on le sera pour toujours par la suite. Donc notre ‘’Être’’ permanent est plutôt l’état de mort qui est temporairement interrompu à cause de la naissance. Naître dans ce monde, c’est entrer dans un état anormal qui s’appelle la vie. Qu’est-ce qu’on y fait, pour qui et dans quel but ? Alors qu’on y laissera tout ce qu’on aura acquis à la fin de ce parcourt éphémère ; est-ce une récompense ou une punition ? Qu’est-ce que l’humanité et quel est le rôle des femmes là-dedans ?  Sont-elles condamnées à faire continuer ce relais énigmatique de « N’être » ? Ces questions sont aussi mondiales que personnelles. Bien sûr, il n’y a pas une réponse et à chacun(e) ses réponses.          
 
Le 8 Mars sera la journée internationale de la Femme, j’'espère que cette exposition vous donnera l'occasion d'y réfléchir…

 

 

FORMATION

Née au Japon en 1978
 
A commencé son activité artistique à l'âge de 32 ans.
A étudié une technique de peinture de portrait avec le professeur Toru Shin.
2016 Octobre-Décembre : Autorisation de copiste (musée du Louvre).
 

 

EXPOSITIONS

 

" Renaissance d'une femme ", galerie de Thorigny, mars-avril 2022, Paris, France.

" S'abandonner à l'essentiel ", galerie 55Bellechasse, novembre-décembre 2021, Paris, France.


"Je suis une Japonaise", septembre 2018, galerie In)(between, Paris, France : deuxième exposition personnelle, dans le cadre de "L'année du Japon en France", célébrant les 160 ans d'amitié entre les deux pays.

" 18 portraits de soldats " - 70 ans après la guerre : première exposition personnelle à Fukuoka présentant une série de portraits de soldats. L'exposition a tourné dans deux maisons de la culture et dans un centre culturel municipal.    

Juillet 2015 (maison de la culture) - Yukuhashi, Fukuoka, Japon,

Septembre 2015 (maison de la culture) - Chikuzenmachi, Fukuoka,


Japon, Novembre 2015 (centre culturel municipal), Fukuoka, Japon.

IMG_6733.JPG

EXPOSITIONRina MARUYAMA crée RENAISSANCE D'UNE FEMME

 

« Corps de ciel, corps en apesanteur, corps-univers. Jeune artiste venue du Japon, Rina Maruyana, parisienne d’adoption, propose une très riche vision renouvelée de l’humain. Spiritualisée, densifiée et comme en apesanteur, la chair sacralisée se détache pudiquement, et fièrement, de l’étendue. Elle règne en plénitude. En infinitude.
La sagesse d’Asie étreint du dedans ses somptueuses nudités. Empreintes d’une autre pensée, quand c’est le corps qui déclenche des pensées, et oxygène au profond le mental. Les corps peints de Rina Maruyana, sur fond d’insondable espace, sont autant de repères d’âme, aux confins de tous les attendus charnels. Ses corps, toujours en position statuaire, sont en situation dominante. Ils règnent en majesté charnelle. Ils portent la contemplation jusqu’au bord aigu de l’infini. 
Le corps d’apparat est un corps factice, fabriqué de toutes pièces culturelles, imposé et dogmatique. Le corps maruyanesque est vécu, vital et habité. Il est demeure d’universelle humanité. Corporéité marquée d’abstraction sensuelle, et riche de chaude épaisseur vitale. Le corps d’apparence est fantôme d’éternité. Le corps peint des peintres est corps d’ultime résistance, corps d’indispensable vérité. Le corps des profondeurs n’a pas voix au chapitre léger des apparences. 
Le corps, distingué du paysage, incarne une sorte de rupture symbolique du cordon ombilical, la possibilité de vivre sans attache, dans l’autonomie d’une relation de maîtrise existentielle. Cette séparation première suppose la capacité d’accueil de l’altérité intracorporelle. L’artiste, comme le pharaon défunt s’auto-engendrait pour l’éternité de sa renaissance, recrée son corps par le processus de création, comme il recrée le paysage charnel de sa vie rêvée. 
L’oeuvre de Rina Maruyana démontre l’impérieuse nécessité du dépouillement pictural. Et le regard enfin s’abandonne à l’essentiel. »

Christian Noorbergen, le 26 juillet 2021

Critique d’art et conférencier