Théo DRUCKER

 

BIOGRAPHY

 

Théo Drucker was born in 1998 from a Parisian wedding between a Franco Colombian mother and a Franco Israeli father. He grows up in the Bordeaux area. This union of cultures allows him to evolve in a rich atmosphere stimulated by trips and encounters that fed his interest in creation. It is this atypical alliance between a High Fashion model with a sharp aesthetic sense and a very handy building contractor, that filled Théo with this urge to create.

 

At seven, Théo was diagnosed with Burkitt’s lymphoma, a malignant tumor, which thanks to chemotherapy and unfailing family support, was brought to remission. This hospitalization time allowed him to start experimenting drawing, painting and sculpture intensely. Now cured, he gets into carpentry, mechanics and electricity alongside his scientific studies. Fashion naturally becomes important in his research, he wants to embody his vision of Beauty, this involves the assembly of designer clothes, in outfits that he likes to describe as timeless.

 

In 2016, the young high school graduate settles in New York City, he studies downtown at the Manhattan Language School. This extended stay will allow him to evolve in a cosmopolitan city and steep in its major influence in contemporary art. The general esthetics of this city will remain for Théo a continuous source of inspiration.

 

Back in France, he begins to express himself through scenography, especially thanks to the creation of Amplitudes, an event association composed of his close friends. His challenge? Connect the arts by creating spaces forming a link between music, dance and display. It is through places and events in Bordeaux such as the iBoat, Darwin Eco-system or even the Fête de la Musique that Théo gets his firsts confrontations with the public.

 

But his desire to associate his vison of beauty to function didn’t come from space design. As a matter of fact, it’s product design that has always been at the center of his attention, taking shape with the custom-making of fixies and motorcycles. Then it is with contemporary furniture that he continues to fashion his minimalistic geometric esthetics.

 

In 2019, the young artist establishes in a workshop in the heart of Bordeaux, there, he begins to accumulate tools and materials. An element, which without knowing it, proved essential on March 17, 2020, at the dawn of the lockdown. In this particular atmosphere, Théo manages to abandon the functional aspect of his work to concentrate on pure artistic creation. THE DISRUPTIVE ELEMENT series emerges.

 

A project built around ANTHROPOCENE: The mankind era. Indeed, Théo’s work articulates around humanity and its influence on its home planet.

His sculptural compositions are linked by one material, whether it is shaped as a tube, a spindle or a sheet, whether it has been cut, twisted or bent, it’s brass that composes this series. Alloy of copper and zinc (today recognized for its antibacterial properties) its oxidation evolves from champagne to bronze, natural or accelerated it forms abstract patterns which participate in the impression of movement.

Typical feature of the full metal jacket bullet, BRASS is here the representative of human actions, in other words: the disruptive element.

 

Théo emerges stronger of long months of lockdown devotes to creation, 2021 will be the year of research for the young artist. After cruising down the coasts of Costa Rica, he carries on with his journey following his origins to Colombia, then it is in Israel that he settles, before wandering to Belgium and finally Corsica. Stimulated by prolific encounters surrounded by a wide diversity of spectacular settings, he regains his workshop to tackle a new project: USELESSNESS.

MODUS OPERANDI

 

“It always begins from an observation, realization or a discovery, then I start developing the plastic representation of my idea. My approach being tightly related to the material I use, I don’t function with sketches anymore, but with a cognitive modelization, that I do my best to render in my workshop as closely as possible. This without letting the transition from mind to reality corrupt my vision.”

EXHIBITIONS

 

 

GALERIE WILHELM BLAIS - Village Notre Dame

THE DISRUPTIVE ELEMENT (SOLO SHOW)

2020 in Bordeaux

 

EXPO4ART - Halle des Blancs Manteaux

THE DISRUPTIVE ELEMENT (GROUP SHOW)

2020 in Paris IV

 

EXPO4ART - Halle des Blancs Manteaux

THE DISRUPTIVE ELEMENT (SOLO SHOW

2021 in Paris IV

 

HAUTE CULTURE - Cour Mably

THE DISRUPTIVE ELEMENT (GROUP SHOW)

2021 in Bordeaux

 

GALERIE DE THORIGNY

USELESSNESS (SOLO SHOW)

2022 in Paris III

Théo Druker_edited.jpg

EXHIBITIONUSELESSNESS - Théo Drucker

Oscar Wilde wrote in the preface of The Picture of Dorian Gray: “[…] All art is quite useless’’, half a century before him Théophile Gautier claimed in the preface of Mademoiselle de Maupin: “Only that which serves no end is beautiful, everything useful is ugly. […]” Stirred by the distinct views of the respective masters of Aestheticism and Parnassianism, Théo, who has always been concerned about the usefulness of art, decides to take the matter backwards: he will sculpt from utilitarian objects.

 

As an echo to his first series, he decides to involve an element he knows well: fire, feared for its destructive potential, in art it can embody creative forces. And it is precisely this duality that acts as courier from useful to useless, from practical to superfluous, from design to art. 

Fire aspires to create art by destroying function.

 

His primary approach is driven by Yakisugi (ancestral method of wood preservation by a controlled charring), not only it confers the treated wood with an eternal dimension, but it gives it an ebonized finish that reveals the unique temper of the manufactured object.

 

Between the deepening of mediums developed for his previous series and new experimentations, the processes sprang to interact with a powerless spectator facing an object deprived of its essence, but imputed with a mission: reach a degree of higher importance than usefulness.

Théo Drucker

 

BIOGRAPHIE

 

Théo Drucker est né en 1998 du fruit d’un mariage parisien entre une mère francocolombienne et un père franco-israélien. Il grandit dans la région bordelaise. Cette union de cultures lui permet d’évoluer dans une atmosphère pédagogique riche, stimulée par des voyages et des rencontres qui ont permis de nourrir son attrait pour la création. C’est cette alliance atypique entre une mannequin haute couture au sens de l’esthétique pointu et un ancien entrepreneur en bâtiment dont le savoir-faire à fait la réputation qui a intrinsèquement provoqué chez Théo ce besoin de créer.

 

À ses sept ans, on diagnostique à Théo un lymphome de Burkitt, une tumeur maligne qui, grâce à la chimiotherapie et un accompagnement familial sans faille aboutira à une rémission. C’est cette période d’hospitalisation qui lui permettra de commencer à expérimenter le dessin, la peinture et la sculpture plus intensément. Guéri, il s’intéresse en parallèle de ses études scientifiques à la menuiserie, la mécanique et l’électricité. Aussi, la mode se place au coeur de ses recherches, il tient à incarner sa vision du Beau, cela passe par l’assemblage de pièces de créateurs, dans des tenues qu’il se plaît à imaginer intemporelles.

 

En 2016, c’est à New York que le jeune bachelier pose ses valises, il étudie downtown à la Manhattan Language School. Ce séjour prolongé lui permettra d’évoluer dans une ville cosmopolite et de s’imprégner de son influence majeure en matière d’art contemporain. L’esthétique générale de cette ville restera pour Théo une source d’inspiration continue.

 

De retour en France il commence à s’exprimer à travers la scénographie notamment grâce à la création des Amplitudes, une association d’événementiel composée de ses amis proches. Son challenge ? Relier les arts en arrivant à proposer des espaces qui forment un lien entre la musique, la danse et le visuel. C’est à travers des lieux et évènements de la métropole bordelaise comme l’iBoat, Darwin Eco-système ou encore la Fête de la Musique que Théo s’offre ses premières confrontations au public.

 

Mais son désir d’associer sa vision du Beau à la fonction n’est pas parti du design d’espace. En effet c’est le produit qui a toujours été au centre de l’attention du plasticien, se concrétisant notamment par la conception de fixie et moto sur mesure. Puis c’est par le mobilier contemporain qu’il continue à façonner son esthétique géométrique minimaliste.

En 2019 le jeune artiste s’installe au coeur de Bordeaux dans un atelier où il commence à accumuler outils et matériaux divers. Un élément, qui, sans le savoir s’est révélé essentiel le 17 mars 2020, à l’aube du confinement. Dans cette atmosphère particulière Théo va parvenir à délaisser l’aspect fonctionnel de son travail pour se concentrer sur la création purement artistique. La série THE DISRUPTIVE ELEMENT émerge.

 

Un projet construit autour de l’ANTHROPOCÈNE : L’âge de l’Homme. En effet, le travail de Théo s’articule autour de l’humain et des bouleversements qu’il opère sur le monde qui l’entoure.

Ses compositions sculpturales sont liées par un matériau, qu’il soit sous forme de tube, de tige ou de plaque, qu’il ait été découpé, tordu ou cintré, c’est le laiton qui compose cette série. Alliage de zinc et de cuivre (aujourd’hui reconnu pour ses propriétés antibactériennes) son oxydation évolue du champagne au bronze, naturelle ou accélérée elle forme des patterns abstraits qui participent à l’impression de mouvement.

Composant caractéristique des munitions d’armes à feu, le LAITON est ici le représentant de l’action de l’Homme, autrement dit : l’élément perturbateur.

 

Sorti grandi de longs mois de confinements consacrés à la création, l’année 2021 sera celle de la recherche pour le jeune artiste. Après avoir descendu les côtes Costariciennes, Théo poursuit son périple en direction de ses origines : il s’imprègne de la Colombie, puis c’est en Israël qu’il pose ses valises, avant de redécoller pour la Belgique et finalement la Corse. Stimulé par des rencontres prolifiques entouré d’une diversité de paysages grandioses, il regagne son atelier pour s’atteler à un nouveau projet : USELESSNESS.

 

MODUS OPERANDI 

 

‘’ C’est à partir d’une question, d’une observation, d’un constat ou d’une trouvaille que je développe la représentation plastique de mon idée. Ma démarche étant étroitement liée aux matériaux employés, elle ne passe plus par le croquis, mais par une modélisation cognitive, que je m’applique à restituer dans mon atelier le plus fidèlement possible, sans que la barrière du réel ne vienne corrompre ma vision. ”

 

 EXPOSITIONS

 

GALERIE WILHELM BLAIS - Village Notre Dame

THE DISRUPTIVE ELEMENT (MONOGRAPHIQUE)

2020 à Bordeaux

 

EXPO4ART - Halle des Blancs Manteaux

THE DISRUPTIVE ELEMENT (COLLECTIVE)

2020 à Paris IV

 

EXPO4ART - Halle des Blancs Manteaux

THE DISRUPTIVE ELEMENT (MONOGRAPHIQUE)

2021 à Paris IV

 

HAUTE CULTURE - Cour Mably

THE DISRUPTIVE ELEMENT (COLLECTIVE)

2021 à Bordeaux

 

GALERIE DE THORIGNY

USELESSNESS (MONOGRAPHIQUE)

2022 à Paris III

Théo Druker_edited.jpg

EXPOSITIONUSELESSNESS - Théo Drucker

Oscar Wilde écrivait dans la préface du Portrait de Dorian Gray : ‘’ […] All art is quite useless’’, un demi-siècle avant lui Théophile Gautier affirmait dans la préface de Mademoiselle de Maupin : “Il n’y a de vraiment beau que ce qui ne peut servir à rien, tout ce qui est utile est laid. […]’’ Attisé par les pensées tranchées des maîtres respectifs de l’Esthétisme et du Parnasse, Théo, depuis longtemps piqué par la question de l’utilité de l’art, décide de prendre le sujet à contre-pied : il va sculpter à partir d’objets fonctionnels.

 

Comme un écho à sa première série, il décide de faire intervenir un élément qu’il connaît bien : le feu, craint pour son potentiel destructeur, en art il peut incarner une force créatrice. C’est cette dualité qui fait ici office de passeuse de l’objet fonctionnel à l’œuvre, de l’utile à l’inutile, du pratique au superflu, du design à l’art. 

Le feu aspire à créer l’art en détruisant la fonction.

 

Son approche primaire est conduite par le Yakisugi (technique japonaise ancestrale de protection du bois par un procédé de carbonisation maitrisé), en plus de donner une dimension éternelle au bois traité, il lui confère un noircissement ébène révélateur du caractère unique de l’objet manufacturé.

 

Entre approfondissement des mediums développés pour sa série précédente et nouvelles expérimentations, les procédés jaillissent pour interagir avec un spectateur impuissant face à un objet privé de son essence, mais imputé d’une mission : accéder à un degré de valeur supérieur à l’utilité.